+36 1 344 0314|titkarsag@mab.hu


Board Members

Appointed for a six-year mandate from 1 March 2018


Scientific degree Professional field /membership Employer / Position Delegating entity

Valéria Csépe* President

Member of HAS

Cognitive psychology and neuroscience

HAS Research Centre for Natural Sciences, Pannon University

HAS and MIT Minister

Gábor Hamza Vice-President

Member of HAS


Eötvös Loránd University, UP


László Hunyady

Member of HAS Theoretical medicine

Semmelweis University, UP

MIT Minister

Gyula Bakacsi*


Business and management

Budapest University of Economics/Eötvös Loránd University, UP


László Buday
(from 13.09.2019)

Member of HAS

Biology and theoretical medicine

HAS Research Centre for Natural Sciences, director/Semmelweis University, UP

MIT Minister

Márton Csanády*


Multidisciplinary social sciences

Budapest Metropolitan University/ Károli Gáspár Reformed University, director of communications and research

MIT Minister

Sándor Dévényi

Doctor of Arts, member of the Hungarian Academy of Arts


University of Pécs, UP

Hungarian Academy of Arts

Ferenc Gazdag*


Political science

National Public Service Universty, UP


István Greiner*


Bio-, environmental and chemical sciences, chemical engineering, pharmaceutics

Gedeon Richter Plc., director of research

Hungarian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Krisztina Károly



Eötvös Loránd U. UP

EMMI Minister

László L. Kiss

Member of HAS


HAS Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences, Miklós Konkoly-Thege Astronomy Inst., director


László T. Kóczy


Information science, electrical engineering

István Széchenyi University, UP


Barna Mezey



Eötvös Loránd University/István Széchenyi University, UP

MIT Minister

Judit Podráczky



Kaposvár University, associate UP

MIT Minister

Enikő Sepsi


Literature and culture, media and communications, art and theatre arts

Gáspár Károli Reformed University, UP, director of institute/Kálmán Benda College of Humanities and Social Sciences, director

Reformed Church

István Seszták



St. Atanaz Greek Catholic Theological College, college professor

Catholic Church

Tamás Sterbenz


Business management, economics, sport sciences

University of Physical Education, associate UP

MIT Minister

Dániel Molnár


DOSZ president


Péter Tóth

Member of the Hungarian Academy of Arts


Szeged University, UP

MIT Minister

Péter Kovács


HÖOK vice president


*second term 

Secretary General
Ádám Kégler, PhD

Permanently invited delegates

József Bódis
(from 30.06.2014)
László Csernoch
(from 30.06.2014)
DSc National Doctoral Council
Tamás Dezső
(from 11.03.2019)
PhD Higher Education Planning Council
Sándor Brassói PhD Educational Authority
Balázs Hankó PhD MIT
László Borhi corresp. member of HAS HRC

CSc Candidate of Science, DSc: Doctor of Science approved by the Academy, corresp. member of HAS: corresponding member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, HRC: Hungarian Rectors’ Conference, UP: university professor, CP: college professor, MIT: Ministry of Innovation and Technology, DOSZ: National Union of Doctoral Students, HÖOK: National Union of Students in Hungary

Expert committees for disciplines

  • Agriculture
  • Humanities
  • Theology
  • Engineering
  • Arts
  • Medical and Health Sciences
  • Sports
  • Social sciences
  • Natural sciences
  • Economics

Other expert committees

  • University professorships
  • Doctoral training
  • Legal issues
  • Strategy
  • Quality Assurance
  • Teacher training

At its plenary meeting on 19 July 2019 the HAC elected the new members of its International Advisory Board. The task of the Board is to follow the work of the HAC and to provide guidance, especially in its annual meetings where, based on the HAC’s annual report and other documents, the Board issues Recommendations. The HAC may also ask the Board on occasion by mail to recommend experts for its external evaluations and to consult on other issues.

The members of the Board are

  • Tove Bull, Norway, linguistics. Former rector of Tromsø University, former member of the Steering Committee of the European University Association Institutional Evaluation Program (EUA IEP). Professor Bull was a member of the review panel of the HAC for ENQA membership in 2008. (On the HAC Advisory Board since 2016.)
  • Guy Haug, France, political science and law from the University of Strasbourg, MBA from the University of Ottawa. Advisor to governments, international organisations, QA agencies, universities and higher education networks. Advisor to EUA in designing and setting up the “Bologna Process”, advisor to the European Commission for the inception and implementation of the ERASMUS Programme. Member of the Appeals Board of AQ Austria.
  • Achim Hopbach, Austria, history. Managing director of the Austrian Agency for Quality Assurance and Accreditation, previously managing director of the German Accreditation Council, from 2009 to 2013 president of ENQA. (On the HAC Advisory Board since 2014.)
  • Liudvika Leisyte, Germany, public policy. Professor at Dortmund University’s Center for Higher Education, previously researcher at the Center for Higher Education Policy Studies (CHEPS) at Twente University, The Netherlands. (On the HAC Advisory Board since 2014.)
  • Lucka Lorber, Slovenia, geography. Vice-Rector for Quality Development at Maribor University, an external expert evaluator of the National Agency for Quality Assurance of Slovenia (NAKVIS) and in the pool of experts of EUA IEP. (On the HAC Advisory Board since 2016.)
  • Hubertus (Bert) Roebben, Belgium and Germany, received his doctorate in theology from the Catholic University, Leuven. Currently professor at the Catholic Faculty of Bonn University and holds the chair of the Department of Religious Education, Religious Adult Education and Homiletics. Acted as expert to the Council of Europe for education seminars in the Ukraine and chaired the Religious Education Association in the U.S.
  • Norma Ryan, Ireland, biochemistry. Former director of the Quality Promotion Unit at the National University of Ireland, University College Cork, former vice-dean of the Sciences Faculty. Participated and chaired international quality reviews, including for EUA IEP. Participated in the ENQA review panel for the evaluation of HAC in 2013 and the chaired the panel in 2018.
  • Mieczyslav Socha, Poland, economics. Professor at the University of Warsaw and former vice-president of the Polish accreditation commission PKA. Former Board member of INQAAHE and CEENQA. (On the HAC Advisory Board since 2014.)
Recommendations of the International Advisory Board2020-11-26T11:46:28+00:00

Hungarian Advisory Board


Scientific degree

Place of work and position

Vilmos Benkő
(from 09.12.2016)
National Talent Support Council, president
Gábor Bojár
(from 01.07.2012)
Graphisoft SE, president
Dale A. Martin
(from 09.12.2016)
Siemens Hungary Ltd., president and CEO
István Greiner
(from 01.07.2012)
CSc Richter Gedeon Plc., research director
Roland Jakab
(from 09.12.2016)

Ericsson Hungary, CEO
Gábor B. Makara
(from 01.07.2012)
HAS full member HAS Research Institute for Experimental Medicine, research professor
Miklós Maróth
(from 09.12.2016)
HAS full member Avicenna Institute of Middle Eastern Studies, director

HAS – Hungarian Academy of Sciences